Privacy and tracking.
Nobody will be able to track your location until you press the green start button. You can check whether the tracking facility is activated by loading up the app, or, you can look for the GPS symbol at the top of your phone’s home screen.
You can nominate two different people to have access to your location information. These can be changed by visiting the Keep Me Safe website,You must log out and back in to the application each time you do so in order for the information to update.
No. Your Keep Me Safe account is password protected and your information is held on a secure server. Only the people you nominate as trackers will
be able to see your location by logging onto a secure website using a username and password.
The application will recognise that you feel unsafe and will map your location at more frequent intervals, meaning your exact ;location will be logged
more frequent intervals, meaning your exact location will be logged more accurately. After 15 minutes the app will ask you to either end your journey to
confirm you are safe, or extend the amber alert status for a further 15 minutes. If this message is not answered, it will automatically change to red
Once red alert has been pressed, a message will be sent to your nominated trackers to advise them you have raised this status. To end this
status, press the red stop button.
No. Keep Me Safe will not alert the police if red alert is pressed. However, your location information is made available to the police in an
emergency situation. Only your nominated trackers will be alerted if the red alert button is pressed.
Phones and signal.
Currently, the application will only run on Android 2.2 operating systems. Keep Me Safe will work on both pay as you go and contract handsets, as long as they have GPS. iPhone is soon to be launched, technology and data services enabled.
Keep Me Safe tracks you using GPS positioning and will continue to track you when no phone signal is available, but GPS signal can be found. The app
needs internet access to send your location information to your trackers, so the app will update the server with this information once you are back in
internet range. Should your battery go flat, the app will store your last known location until the phone is turned back on.
Keep Me Safe may work abroad, but this will depend on the country’s GPS system. However, please be aware of data roaming charges.
A GPS signal cannot always be found when travelling on a train. When tracking is activated the app will track your location until you board the train, and pick you up again when you disembark. Connecting to the train’s WiFi while tracking is not recommended as this can produce anomalies in the location results.
If you lose or change your handset, you will need to download the free app onto your new phone and then log in as normal to your Keep Me Safe account using your username and password.
Your subscription to the application’s services will last for 12 months from registration.
When KeepMeSafe sends a notification to your handset it places a pin on this bar. You may find that you have a message warning you that your battery useage is low. This pin will stay there until you acknowledge the notification. This you do by pulling down the notification bar
You need to download the Twitter App from the Market Android Store before Twitter is accessible. If you don’t have a Twitter account already, you will be able to set one up once you have installed the Twitter App.
You need to download the Facebook App from the Market Android Store before Facebook is accessible. If you don’t have a Facebook account already, you will be able to set one up once you have installed the Facebook App.
IMPORTANT: Keep Me Safe has permission to share your location information with the police in the event of an emergency.
Select when your nominated trackers have access to your location information by selecting one or more of the options below. Please re-
Let my nominated trackers view my location information if I select amber or red alert.
Let my nominated trackers view my location information.